Appointment to Committees and Outside Bodies Town Council 21 November 2017

RECOMMENDED that Councillors are appointed to fill vacancies on Committees and working groups and as representatives to Outside Bodies

Introduction

- Since the Annual Town Council meeting on 16 May 2017 when Councillors are appointed to serve on various committees, working groups and to be the Town Council's representative on outside bodies a number of casual vacancies have occurred.
- 2. It is particularly important that the Committee places are filled as should the Committees be required to meet it could be at short notice.

Vacancy Information

 The table below shows the composition of the various Committees etc where there is currently a vacancy. The name of the person who has created the vacancy is shown in bold, red text

Committee / Working Group	Councillors appointed at the Annual Town Council meeting in May 2017
Grievance, Capability and Disciplinary Committee	Deputy Mayor (ex officio) who is the Chair plus Councillors Drayton and Fagan with Councillors Sherman and Belobaba as reserves. (The quorum for the Committee is 4 (04.06.12))
Appeals Committee	The precedent is that the Mayor would chair this Committee (unless they were involved in the appeal issue / topic) Mayor and Councillors Kinder and Shepherd with Councillors Swann and Mackillop as reserves. (The Appeals Committee will comprise 3 Members - (quorum set by Council 26.06.12)
Cemetery Working Group	Councillors Burton, Drayton , Shearman, Swann plus the ex officio appointments of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Open Spaces Committee (since 18.07.17 Cllr Swann is Vice-Chair of the Open Spaces Committee)
Toilet Block Working Group	Cllrs Belobaba, Drayton , Fagan, Fowler, Shepherd and Shearman
Local Council Award Scheme Working Group	Councillors Fowler and Kinder
Licence Conditions Negotiations Group	Councillors Burton, Fagan James and Kinder

Agenda No 9

Representatives On Outside Bodies	
Organisation Name	Councillors appointed at the Annual Town
	Council meeting in May 2017
Somerset Association of Local	Cllr Kinder & Walker (Cllr Fowler as deputy)
Councils	
Chamber Of Commerce	Cllr James & Cllr Walker (Cllr Kinder as Deputy)

The membership of the Grievance, Capability and Disciplinary Committee and the Appeals Committee are mutually exclusive in order to maintain fair and objective processes.

Report Prepared: 14 November 2017

Contact for Further Information: The Town Clerk: Tel 01460 52149 or email

town.council@ilminster.gov.uk